horses

The 3 Best Ways to Use Peppermint Oil with Your Horse

If you are an active follower, you will notice that I mention Peppermint Oil quite often. This is because horses absolutely love it, duh! 🙂 Peppermint happens to taste amazing and has an array of benefits, especially for our horsey friends. I’ve put together a short list of my 3 favorite ways to use Peppermint Oil with my gelding, Diddy.

#1 In the water bucket/trough
Diddy is not a great drinker and I often worry about him becoming dehydrated. When it comes to electrolytes, he turns up his nose and won’t touch a soaked grain. Just the other day I had a genius idea – why not add Peppermint Oil to his water buckets!? He is a huge fan of Peppermint Oil, of course, and I’m surprised I didn’t think of this sooner. I wanted to be sure he liked it in his water and decided to put it to the test. I filled one bucket with plain water and one with 2 drops of Peppermint and would check the next day to see which he drank more of or if there was no difference. Well, guess what?? He didn’t touch the plain water and drank about half the bucket of the Peppermint Oil one. Tada! Water that tastes like a treat and is completely healthy and all natural. Doesn’t get any better than that.

15292845_1473902019290918_1136416313_o

#2 On the bit before a ride
I have a Peppermint Bit Butter that I use, which you can read about here (https://essentialequioils.wordpress.com/2016/07/01/my-product-guide/) which I apply to the corners of his mouth and on the bit. This encourages him to accept the bit as I bridle him and on the corners of the mouth prevents rubbing and chaffing. If you don’t prefer the bit butter, you can simple place a drop of peppermint oil in your hand and rub it all over your bit. Your horse will be so excited to be bridled! This also helps promote focus during the ride and helps to clear the respiratory system.

15281929_1473882869292833_1790832709_n

#3 In a mash
As I stated before, Diddy can be a bit of a picky eater. He is not fond of electrolytes at all so when I want to give him some, I make up a little mash, throw in some electrolytes and put a couple drops of peppermint oil. With the oil, he will most often eat the whole thing up! The flavor covers that of the electrolytes and ingesting the oil also aids in the prevention of ulcers. I try to do this once a week to keep him super hydrated and keep him ulcer free!!

Leave a Reply

