Oil Spotlights

Oil Spotlight: Lavender

s-l1000

Lavender is probably one of the most recognized and common essential oils out there. Even those who don’t know about essential oils most likely know the calming effect that lavender has. I have dealt with sleeping and anxiety issues throughout my life so… yep, you guessed it, I am a HUGE fan of lavender!! Add a couple of drops to your bath for a relaxing spa-like tranquility or even a small drop on your pillow to help you ease into sleep. My cousin rubs a small amount onto the sole of her son’s feet every night to help him sleep like a little angel. One of my best experiences with this oil was when I had to move (Driving!!) from California to Colorado and passing through the mountains there was quite a bit of snow to deal with. I kept my bottle of doTERRA lavender right by my side and anytime I would feel my anxiety begin to rise I would just screw off the cap and take a whiff of the lovely scent. It really helped me stay calm through the trek.

lavender 1

I did not know until recently that Lavender can also help reduce skin irritation. I put coconut oil on my skin almost daily (mostly my face) and if my skin is irritated for any reason, I can mix a drop of lavender oil into the coconut and TADA! Beautiful skin. Be sure to dilute though because direct contact on the skin may cause irritation.

lavender 2

Have a great day everyone and keep your lavender handy through this work week!!

-Heather 🙂

2 thoughts on “Oil Spotlight: Lavender

  1. Putting essential oils in the bath without any dispersant or carrier oil can leave some people with sore skin at the point where the skin breaks the surface because the oil floats on top of the water. I know because I am one of them. I know a few other people affected in this way too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

